Anonymous® Radio Show

The Internet's Premier LIVE Programme™

JAPAN | weird shit since 1952

Sometimes stores have so much weird shit in them that no matter what you say people assume you are making things up. Trust me when I say, I am not that creative.

Nene Anegasaki and a man who goes by the online name Sal9000 were married last November (i wonder how that’s going after 3 months.)

  • Sadly, the man who is only named Sal9000 is NOT why this story is so weird.
  • Nene Anegasaki is a character in a Nintendo DS Japanese “love simulator” game, Love Plus.

The wedding ceremony was conducted by a real priest (not a virtual one), but said priests denomination was not listed. And while technically not a legal marriage, like I am technically not completely freaked out by this, pictures from BoingBoing.net (yes, that is the actual name of the web site) shows Sal9000 on his honeymoon with his digital bride.

I am really trying not to judge, but this is creating many questions which result in some mental images I really could have done without. I can sort of, in theory, understand falling in love with someone that you only met online. You hear stories all the time of people that meet in MMO’s or some other virtual setting, then getting together in real life, but this defies all logic. At least with the previous example there is actually a real person on the other end of the avatar. Marrying a video game character, that character is always going to be virtual.

Stop the planet, I want to get off now.

No comments yet»

Join the conversation :