Anonymous® Radio Show

The Internet's Premier LIVE Programme™

NEW! | Viola Bow | Poetess

Viola & BowWe welcome yet another New Guest Author!

Award winning poet Viola Bow from New South Wales, unfortunately currently a land on fire! The following poem is accordingly grim… God bless.


This Scorched Country

In this scorched land
That feels so much pain
Where the blackened hands
Beseech the rain
And the crying clouds
Stretch with irony
In this scorched country
That shall not smile
We cry
We bleed
We hide a while
We are sand
And dust and dunes
And aching
I can’t bear to see you
I can’t bear to feel you
I cannot open my door
For you lie there
I cannot live in my house
For I hear you there
Echoing
Scorched
Burnt
Dead
And all the animals cry
Life hides
I live in such dismay
You are killing me
With your scorched breath
And your sad decay
And all the bodies that are buried
That lie there
Mute
This constant pain
You feed day after day
Has just about killed me
And the horror of you
And the mask of you
Lead me down to your sand dunes
Down by the sea
Where I hear your ocean open wide
Where I take my first deathly strides
Oh carry me on the waves of
all the romance that is you
My beautiful country
That only knows
Death
I love you

16 Comments»

  TessM wrote @

Hauntingly beautiful words Viola. Australia is a beautiful and challenging ancient land and we are priviledged to live here. Poignant, well-written piece.

  Viola Bow wrote @

Hi Tess,
I appreciate your comment very much. Thank you! xxx

  poireaux wrote @

What a beautifully composed piece of poetry and of course, a very timely piece – all Australians can resonate closely with those words right now. Well done viola rose!

  Viola Bow wrote @

Hello! I am deeply grateful for your kind words and for taking the time to read and comment. It is a shame it is about such a distressing topic and as I speak the fires have flared up again in Victoria and ppl are being evicted. 😦 Thank you. xxx

  Michael Pitkin wrote @

What a poignant piece of prose. Excellent and I wish you well in your poetic career.

  Viola wrote @

Thank you for your kind words. It is indeed an area I am passionate about and thank you for taking the time to write a comment.
xxx

  Henry wrote @

Viola probably is one of the best poetry writers of our times, her poetry is timeless, soulful, honest, encyclopedic, intelligent and it has the gift of showing in front of our faces, our own pain, our own love, our own grief and our own desires.

  Viola wrote @

Thank you so much for your lovely words, Henry. They have nearly bought me to tears, they are so kind. (too kind!)

  carol wrote @

A beautifully tragic and timely piece Viola.

  Viola Bow wrote @

Thank you very much Carol for reading and taking the time to comment.

  Theresa wrote @

Very well written – wish I wrote anything as well as you do poetry!

Thoughts and prayers go out to those affected by the fires.

  Peter Piper wrote @

A beautiful piece of meaning poetry. You are to be congratulated

  Viola Bow wrote @

Thank you very much

  Marlene Harding wrote @

Viola, Thank you for your moving poem.
I like the way you wrote it.

  Viola Bow wrote @

Thank you for taking the time to read and leave a comment. It is much appreciated.

  This Burning World wrote @

Marvelous words! This Burning World salutes you!

Unfortunately this is a sign of things to come.

We live in a land of drought and fire in a world of of human induced climate change.

The rich are the locusts that are consuming the world.


Join the conversation :

